It is highly recommended that whatever firm you decide to go with is licensed through the State of Nevada Private Investigator’s Licensing Board.
Nevada is one of the toughest states to obtain a Private Investigator license. According to the Private Investigator Licensing Board, to obtain a license in the state of Nevada, the licensee:
- Must have at least 5 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) experience as an investigator, or equivalent thereof, as determined by the Board.
- An associate’s degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 18 months or 3,000 hours of experience.
- Be at least 21 years of age
- Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States.
- Be of good moral character and temperate habits.
- Have not been convicted of a felony or any crime involving moral turpitude or the illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon
- Undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Nevada Department of Public Safety
- Pass an exam with a score of 75% or better (only for individual applicants and qualified agent applicants)